VIKTOR AMBARTSUMIAN INTERNATIONAL PRIZE

Viktor Ambartsumian Prize is one of the important awards in astronomy/ astrophysics and related sciences. It is being awarded to outstanding scientists having significant contribution in physical-mathematical sciences from any country and nationality. The Prize totals USD 500000 and is being awarded once every two years, starting with 2010.

To apply for the Prize, a work may be presented by an author or authors' group (not more than 3 persons). The cash award is being equally shared between the winners, and a diploma, a medal and a certificate are being awarded to each winner.

The right for the nomination of works is reserved to:

- Nobel Prize Winners
- Presidiums of national academies of sciences
- scientific councils of astronomical observatories
- councils of corresponding departments of universities

Nominations for Viktor Ambartsumian Prize are not allowed in case if the presented work has already won or at the same time has been presented for another international prize.

Necessary documents for nomination:

1. Official letter of nomination signed and sealed by the corresponding body,

2. Statement of scientific results or achievements, which are being nominated,

3. Curriculum Vitae of the nominee(s),

4. List of refereed publications of the nominee(s),

5. General annotations with reports of three referees,

6. Published papers, books, CD/DVDs, or other works that are being nominated.

7. Other documents that might be important for the decision.

The documents should be submitted to:

Viktor Ambartsumian Prize International Steering Committee, Presidium, National Academy of Sciences,

Marshal Baghramyan ave. 24, Yerevan 0019, Republic of Armenia. Phone: +374-10-525505.

Deadline for nominations: March 18, 2012. The decisions will be made before July 18, 2012 and Award of Viktor Ambartsumian Prize will take place on September 18, 2012. Viktor Ambartsumian Prize International Steering Committee:

Prof. Radik M.MARTIROSYAN (Armenia, Chair, president@sci.am), Prof. Gennady S.BISNOVATYI-KOGAN (Russia, gkogan@mx.iki.rssi.ru), Prof. Catherine J.CESARSKY (France, catherine.cesarsky@cea.fr), Prof. Michel MAYOR (Switzerland, michel.mayor@unige.ch), Prof. Jayant V.NARLIKAR (India, jayant@iucaa.ernet.in), Prof. Martin J. REES (UK, mjr@ast.cam.ac.uk), Prof. Davit M.SEDRAKIAN (Armenia, dsedrakian@ysu.am), Prof. Yervant TERZIAN (USA, terzian@astro.cornell.edu), Prof. Robert E. WILLIAMS (USA, wms@stsci.edu).

Contact: Dr. Areg M. MICKAELIAN (Scientific Secretary, Viktor Ambartsumian Prize International Steering Committee, phone: +374-91-195914, e-mail: aregmick@aras.am, aregmick@yahoo.com).

Gohar S.HARUTYUNYAN (Executive Secretary, Viktor Ambartsumian Prize International Steering Committee, phones: +374-10-525505, +374-77-797090, e-mail: goharutyunyan@gmail.com, vaprize@sci.am).

Viktor Ambartsumian International Prize official webpage: http://vaprize.sci.am

WWCSED along Second South